Become a Colorado Bounty Hunter
Many people choose to become bounty hunters because they are motivated by Duane Chapman of Dog the Bounty Hunter. Chapman got his start in Colorado and the state still provides a world of opportunity for new bounty hunters. To work in this field in Colorado, individuals must obtain the proper training and license and adhere to a strict set of rules. While this state has fewer provisions regarding the field than most, it does require appropriate license and that apprehensions are authorized by an insurance company or licensed cash bail agent.
Education and Training
The first step in entering this career in Colorado is to meet all the requirements. Bounty hunters in the state must be free of felony convictions, pass a background check, submit fingerprints, and submit a statement verifying that your personal information is true and accurate. In addition, you must receive the proper training through at least six hours of bail recovery training. This training prepares you to complete the work of fugitive apprehension within the laws and guidelines of the state. In addition, the training is necessary for licensing. As an added bonus, this training can be taken either on-campus or online and will prepare candidates for a wide variety of law enforcement careers in addition to fugitive recovery.
Bounty hunters in Colorado must be contracted by bail bondsmen. Contracted personnel must be free of felonies for the past 15 years and be properly trained in Colorado’s bail recovery practices. Licensing of bounty hunters in the state is provided through the Insurance Division of the Department of Regulatory Agencies. To apply for a license, candidates must pass a background check and submit a full-face photography and proof of completed fugitive recovery education.
In Colorado, any individual over the age of 18 can openly carry a firearm. This does not include areas such as schools, government buildings, public transportation, or certain municipal and business properties. To carry in such locations, bounty hunters must have a concealed carry permit and keep the weapon out of sight. Typically, individuals must be residents of the state and at least 21 years of age to obtain a concealed carry permit. Candidates must prove they have passed a weapons safety class or have an honorable military discharge within the last three years. Candidates must also have clean criminal records. Even with a concealed carry permit, weapons are prohibited in schools, government buildings, and certain other areas. Finally, bounty hunters can carry weapons in their cars for the purpose of self-defense.
Arrest orders for bail skips must come from a licensed bail recovery agent or other authorized entity. Bounty hunters may then take any steps necessary, within the limits of the state’s laws, to track and apprehend the fugitive, even without a certified copy of the bail bond.