Become a Delaware Bounty Hunter
In Delaware, bounty hunting is regulated by the state’s Department of Safety and Homeland Security. The state has many regulations and rules in place for bounty hunters to prevent undue dangers and to stifle the actions of vigilantes. If you wish to become a bounty hunter in Delaware, it is important to understand and follow all of these guidelines in order to have a successful career and to prevent the chance of facing criminal charges.
Education and Training
To work as a bounty hunter in the state of Delaware, candidates must complete training at a state-approved bounty hunter school. These schools follow a state outlined curriculum that includes everything from the Bill of Rights and the Constitution to arrest and search and seizure laws. Approved schools include courses in the use of deadly force, police jurisdiction, and bail enforcement procedures. Students who complete these courses at an accredited school have the certainty and confidence to complete the job as well as the knowledge of laws under which they are required to operate.
Licensing Requirements in Delaware
Despite the numerous laws and regulations, the process of becoming a Delaware bounty hunter is not complicated. Anyone who meets the requirements of the state and completes the application honestly and completely can obtain a bail enforcement officer license. To qualify, applicants must pass a criminal background check and must be over the age of 21. In addition, applicants must submit a certificate of completed state-approved bounty hunter training. Once the application is approved, candidates will be required to report to the Detective Licensing Section to be processed. This involves giving fingerprints and a photograph for entry into the database. Bounty hunters will then be issued an official identification. This costs $75 and must be renewed every four years.
Delaware Weapons Laws
Bounty hunters may carry a firearm in open view as long as they meet Delaware gun possession regulations. Anyone who wishes to carry a concealed weapon must get a concealed carry permit. In addition, bail enforcement agents in the state must complete a 40-hour approved training course.
Delaware Bond Process
When bail forfeiture is not set aside, the trial court will enter a judgment of default and execution. Liability can then be enforced upon motion without independent action. Before a bounty hunter can pursue a fugitive, he or she must notify the State Police and the primary law enforcement officer of the municipality before searching for or arresting an individual within the jurisdiction. Bounty hunters within the state must display a state approved insignia identifying them as Bail Enforcement Agents. Agents are prohibited from using lights or sirens and are not allowed to use animals in any capacity for skip tracing.
Becoming a bounty hunter in Delaware requires getting the proper training and following all rules and regulations. Once you complete the necessary steps, you will be prepared to enter this thrilling field and to start enjoying your new career.